Assignment 5 – Initial Ideas

For this assignment we are asked to create a stand alone image of our choice. The assignment is to draw upon the skills we have learnt so far, including various forms of narrative, putting yourself in the picture, and telling stories and reading images. The only stipulation is to produce work that is controlled and directed by oneself.

This assignment allows for a significant amount of creativity as the brief is completely open and we can decide what kind of image we want to create.

On first thoughts of this brief, I had the idea of recreating movie scenes with action figures. However, when I decided to develop this further, I felt that it was not creating enough narrative or a strong enough image to fulfill this brief.

On further thoughts, I decided to use the idea of putting myself in the picture. The use of  self portrait in Assignment 3, was my favourite of the course so far, so I felt that I could make this an emotive piece of work.

I have struggled with my weight and body image for as long as I can remember and I feel that I would be able to put my personal touch onto this brief.

Leave a Reply

